Gerow elected president of PENNCREST School Board

by Dayna Woodruff, staff writer


Mark Gerow was recently elected president of the PENNCREST School Board.

The PENNCREST school board election was held on Nov. 7, with six seats being up for grabs: four four-year terms, and two two-year terms. Nine candidates, including five newcomers, ran for positions on the board. The close race resulted in three candidates being re-elected, and three candidates claiming terms for the first time.

Mark Gerow, Travis Porter, and newcomers Bob Johnston and Robert Gulick won four-year terms. Timothy Brown and newcomer Jeffrey Brooks are now holding the two-year seats.

At the organizational meeting on Dec. 4, Mark Gerow was elected president of the board on a 5-4 vote. Outgoing president Jason Bakus will remain on the board. Luigi DeFrancesco was elected vice president on a unanimous vote.

The PENNCREST School Board meets on the second Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. The public is encouraged to attend.

Leave a Reply